Friday, 28 December 2012

Naked Blonder Lightening Shampoo/Conditioner: Product Review

Recently I ran out of my last shampoo product - the John Frieda: Go Blonder shampoo. I really loved this shampoo, maybe more for its vibrant yellow colour and pleasant smell than the effects of its colour lightening (read detailed review here) however I have decided to try a different shampoo this time.

The shampoo that I chose was the Naked Blonder Lightening Shampoo. I was interested in this brand because the products are 97% natural ingredients and do not contain harsh detergents including sulfates. I've heard from various hair guru's and website that sulfates are EVIL so I was interested to see if I noticed any difference from a more natural shampoo. Now obviously I have a slight obsession with making my hair more blonde which is why I went for the lightening shampoo from their range. There are many different types of shampoo that they do though including strengthening, curl defining, anti-dandruff, colour protect.. etc. (see here). This time I also bought the matching conditioner. I never used to really use conditioners however I have since read that using shampoo without conditioner can be damaging to your hair so I have resolved to try using a conditioner again.

Wednesday, 26 December 2012

University and Hair

Hey readers! So I think I mentioned in my last post that I was starting University. Since then I have taken a small break from my blog which i am sorry for. I have had literally no time to even think about writing new blog posts. University is so fun but very busy and I've found I don't get a lot of time to myself. I am back from University at the moment for the christmas holidays so I've finally got chance to update my blog.

Okay so University has taught me a lot. Fresher's week taught me for example that it takes at least 3 washes to get powder paint from a UV party out of your hair and that brushing your hair in the morning is not a necessity for people who've only had 2 hours sleep and have to drag themselves up to go to lectures. From experience I've found that even though you know that teasing you hair for a night out and using a load of hairspray will result in your hair being one massive tangle the next day you will still carry on doing it anyway.

University life has also given me a different view of dry shampoo. While I still stand by my orginal coments in this post, I have found a new very important use for dry shampoo: You've been on a night out and haven't had chance to shower the next morning due to lack of sleep and having to get ready in about 5 minutes. Your hair is a greasy mess covered in sweat and grime form whatever club you have been in and possibly with vodka and lemonade split over it. The only way to look presentable is through the use of dry shampoo. So much so that I have run out of the original can that I bought and needed to buy some more. If like me, you party a little bit too much then dry shampoo becomes a saviour!

This next year I have made it my new years resolution to update my blog more regularly. Look forward to new posts!!

Jen xxx

Friday, 21 September 2012

Updates n Stuff

So I just updated my post about Justin Beiber vs Liam from One Direction hairstyles. This is because I was watching their new music video Live While We're Young (because I am like always update with my 1D music.. ) and I noticed there had been some changes in their hairstyles since that post. Yeah so if you want to read the update you can read the post HERE!

My other news is that I've just reached over 10,000 total page views which I thought was pretty cool. Thanks to anyone who reads my posts.
 I love reading other people's blogs so If anyone has a blog they would like me to check out just leave a link in a comment and I will take a glance!

I'm starting university next week so I'm not sure when my next proper post will be, I've got a few things drafted that I just need to finish off  before I post them so check out for them coming soon. Thanks guuuuys! :)

Wednesday, 19 September 2012

John Frieda: Go Blonder Products Review

I've been using some of the John Frieda Go Blonder products for a while now so I thought I would review them for you.
So this is the John Frieda go Blonder spray. It comes in a small bottle as shown in the picture. The spray contains hydrogen peroxide which works like a hair bleach I guess to lighten your hair. You spray it all over damp hair and then apply heat - Thats it. The heat can be from a hair dryer or a hair straightener or both. I've heard the more heat you use the better the results. The spray very easy to use and smells nice when you spray it into your hair.

Tuesday, 11 September 2012

Liebster Blog Award

Exciting times! I have been nominated for a Liebster Blog Award by Emily from Echo-Sierra: (see this post)
From what I have been able to find out, the Liebster Blog award is given to people with blogs of less than 200 followers in order to help them gain recognition and increase their following. Each recipients then tags another load of people to carry on the chain.
 It works like this. First I post 11 facts about myself, then I answer the questions set for me by Emily and then I write my own questions for the people I tag!

Wednesday, 5 September 2012

The Great British Bake Off: The Hair off

I love the Great British Bake Off. Its a reality TV contest show about BAKING. The best thing about this show is how it doesn't take itself too seriously. The reason I stopped watching shows like The X factor was because how they make it feel like whether a contestant gets through or not is a matter of life and death. Also its full of annoying sob stories and dramatic over the top music. The great British bake off however lightens the mood and gives an altogether more laid back vibe with witty humour, hilarious baking mishaps ('oh no I put salt in instead of sugar'"), quirky contestants and random cut scenes of mallard ducks and squirrels. If anyone is getting too stressed they like to send over presenters Mel and Sue to have a bit of a laugh with them and mock the other contestants to chill them out.
Review of Last nights episode

Now onto the Hair.
Sue Perkins
Along with co-presnter Mel Giedroyc, Sue is pretty much the star of the great British bake-off. (incidentally Mel is not in this article due the the fact she was not in last nights episode for whatever reason... soz) They are funny, entertaining and always show the contestants that there is something to smile about no matter how bad their tarte tatin is.  Sue has a pixie hair cut and has done for the majority of her career. Its slightly stereotypical for a gay woman to have short hair but I actually really like it on her.

Monday, 3 September 2012

How to: Braided headband

This is a cute hairstyle for those times when you want to do something interesting with your hair but still wear it down. It also gets the hair at the front of your head out your face. Its basically an adaption of a braided fringe or bangs. I've always had issues with doing a braided fringe because after you've braided as far as you want to go you always have to pull the braid round your head and pin into place. I find this quite uncomfortable to wear and it often falls out. This is a much better way to get a similar look that holds better and also looks better (in my opinion)

To start with you probably want to have a centre part and nice clean hair. If you must have a different part then you can change this later but really because the braid goes across the top of the head the exact part becomes less important. Next step is to make a circular part all the way around the head. The hair left should be a thin section around the outside of the head. The hair in the middle can be tied back and then put into a quick bun to get it out the way:

Saturday, 1 September 2012

Festival Hairstyles

Having just been to a music festival, I thought I would give you some ideas for what hairstyles are suited for festivals!
For the first day or two I found my hair was fine to be left down and lose and usual. However by day three my hair began to feel a little bit greasy and even with some dry shampoo it felt unclean and nasty. I found that braiding hair is a good way to have hair out the way but still look nice. There is an added bonus when you are at a festival that you can pretty much braid as badly and messily as you want and it will still look alright. Any sort of braided style will work but you will probably want to keep the braid simple so it requires only a few hair elastics and hair pins making it easier to do when your sat in a tent with only a small hand mirror. Here are some braided suggestions:

Thursday, 30 August 2012

The Truth about Dry Shampoo

Until last weekend I had never used dry shampoo before. It has always been one of those things I've never really seen the need for in every day life. Like if I forgot to wash my hair the night before and its slightly greasy I will just quickly wash it the next morning. However, last weekend I went to my first ever music festival (Leeds fest Woop Woop). Anyway so, obviously at festivals there is noway to keep clean or wash hair so I thought I'd try out dry shampoo to keep my hair from looking completely rank for 5 days.
I bought the generic Batiste original dry shampoo (the green one) with me to try out.

 I'd always assumed from the name that dry shampoo was like shampoo but without the need of water to wash it out. However, it is actually much more like Talcum powder in a can.

Monday, 20 August 2012

Premier League: New season, New haircut

Its the beginning of a new football season and a new season means a new team, a new kit and a new haircut. So I was watching this weekend's matches closely for any new season haircuts. There was only one that stood on it particular to me. That was QPR Goalkeeper Rob Green.

Sunday, 19 August 2012

Tulisa: Blonde vs Brown

So Tulisa from Ndubz has in the last few years become all famous due to her becoming a judge on the x factor. She was also voted the "worlds sexist women" for whatever reason. More importantly she has recently dyed her hair blonde in contrast to her previous dark brown hair. Which is better, well lets see.

Brown Hair
These picture below show Tulisa with brown hair. The first is a lighter brown and the second is a much darker brown. I assume naturally her hair is a sort of medium brown.  Personally I prefer the paler more caramel brown shades she sometimes has as these seems to go better with the fake tanned skin.

Friday, 3 August 2012

Olympics: Day 5&6 selection

The Olympics have been going on for a while now and I have become addicted as usual. Obviously the best moment for me was seeing Bradley Wiggins win gold as he is just the coolest person. The other highlight of the games for British viewers has to be the Ian Thorpe commentary in the studios and his hilarious pairing with Gary Lineker and Clare Balding. I love it - nice to have some comedy in between events.  Anyway, I haven't had chance to post about any hairstyles I have spotted until now but yeah, so here a selection of hairstyles spotted by me from days 5&6. As you will see they are all from Women's gymnastics and Athletics.

So this gymnastic has what looks like small braids going back into a bun. The interesting part though is the fact she has some how coloured each section. It was really hard to see how she coloured them but i thought it was really fun and interesting.

Sunday, 29 July 2012

Olympic Opening Ceremony

I loved the Olympic Opening Ceremony that was a few days ago. It did go on for aaaages but I watched all 4 hours of it. Aside from the hairstyles, my favorite part was the digital age scene because of the amazing music and hilarious 'lost phone' subplot. It was also amazing that they got the arctic monkey to play. There were many many great haircuts but I have chosen just one that really stood out:
This is the flag bearer for Israel. As you can see he has shaved the side of his head into the design of the Israeli flag. How amazing..!
I'll be watching most of the Olympics so hopefully will do some more Olympic posts soon. :)

Sunday, 22 July 2012

Tour de France 2012: Wiggo's Winning Sideburns

Over the past 3 weeks I have been watching the Tour de France without fail every day. I've been following the progress of Bradley Wiggins and team Sky from the beginning. Its been absolutely amazing and I have loved watching every minute. Today was the last stage in Paris and the most exciting finish with Mark Cavendish sprinting to the win and Wiggins taking the GC. Wow! Amazing achievement from Wiggins and team Sky (all of whom I have also fallen in love with).

 I was going to make this post right at the start of the tour in order to mock his awful sideburns, but I decided to wait until later and in the end I thought it would be best to talk about his sideburns once he won.   Over the last 3 weeks Wiggins sideburns have been making many headlines. He has been given many different nicknames. I've heard him being called 'the banana with sideburns', Mr sideburns and also Coronal Sideburns. Sideburns has become his thing.These Wiggins masks  have also been spotted on the tour. How amazing..! While sideburns isn't really a good look, I am now completely in love with them.

Thursday, 19 July 2012

Mayonnaise Hair Mask

Okay so I've done another hair mask. This time I decided to do a Mayonnaise hair mask. I'd heard good things about Mayonnaise hair masks. Mayonnaise contains eggs and oils and stuff so the effects are meant to be similar to egg hair masks: it is supposed to strengthen hair and make it shinier and less frizzy.
In my hair mask I decided to put mayonnaise and honey. From what I've read you can add many different things into your mayonnaise such as avocado or banana or olive oil. I decided on honey because I've used it many times before and I had a lot left to use up. I mixed 2 spoons of Mayonnaise with 1 spoon of honey. This resulted in a slightly yellowy mixture with about the same consistency as hair conditioner. It didn't smell great though.

Wednesday, 18 July 2012

The Bachelor: The Hairstyles!

The bachelor combines two of my favourite things: Made in Chelsea and trashy reality TV shows. It stars Spencer Matthews from Made in Chelsea as "the Bachelor" who is trying to find his perfect women. Each week he eliminaes a candidate during the "rose ceremony" and the show will continue until only one is left and Spencer has found his soulmate. From Last Friday's episode here is my analysis of the hairstyles worn in the Rose Ceremony. (I have already talked about Spencer's hair in my Made in Chelsea part 2 post)

1. Chloe
I do not like Chloe, since the beginning I have found her annoying. Her hair is nice here though, it is curled into messy waves which looks quite good on her.

Monday, 16 July 2012

7 Hair Trends to try before you die

This post is about an article I read titled '7 Hair Trends to try before you die'. I was interested to find out how many I had tried myself. As it turns out not very many. I slightly disagreed with the inclusion of some of the trends, here is my take on the styles!

1. Bangs (a fringe)
 Technically, this is one I can tick of as I had a fringe when I was about 5 years old. Since then I have not had a fringe again, however I am definitely considering having a side fringe put in sometime soon. I've always hated having the hair at the front of my head in my face so a fringe might be a good solution to this...
 I agree with one, I think everyone should at least try out having a fringe at some point. Full fringes don't suit everyone but side fringes seem to suit most face types. The photo is of Haley from One Tree Hill. Its the episode from season 4 where they all go the the Honey Grove prom. I really loved this fringe on her.

Saturday, 14 July 2012

Snog Marry Avoid 9/07/12

Alright, so I just watched Snog, Marry Avoid. The show that takes people with atrocious fashion sense and then"makes them under" in an attempt to stop 'fakery' on the streets on Britian. Here fakery meaning fake tan, fake nails, fake hair extensions, masses of makeup, tacky jewellery and general bad fashion sense. I was literally spoiled for choice for bad hairstyles to mock so here goes!

Hair Extensions.
The episode I watched had a feature on hair extensions. This episode was based in Cardiff. Apparently Cardiff is the British capital for hair extensions. Who knew. According to the show everyone in Cardiff wears them. The shows presenter Ellie, was sent on a mission to try out hair extensions. The critical POD (Personal Overhaul Device) that is responsible for the transformations, warned Ellie not to become attached to her fake hair extensions because you know, hair extensions are just so EVIL. Anyway, so this is what Ellie looked like before hand.

Her hair is about APL length and she has some longish layers at the front. She is wearing her hair in a deep side part and she has teased the hair at the crown as she has a lot of volume at the top of her head. I think her hair is quite nice, maybe her side parting should be less deep and slightly more central but yeah its quite nice. The next picture shows her with the hair extensions.

1000 Pageviews!

I just reached a big milestone in my blogger: 1000 page views!! Its been so fun for me to have a place to rant about hairstyles and Its exciting that some people actually want to read my posts! So I would like to say thank you to anyone who has been reading my blog! I'm really new to the whole blogging community and I'm always on the lookout for new blogs to follow. If anyone has a blog or could recommend a blog they think I would like then please leave me a comment or email me and I will check it out. Obviously any hair-related blogs would be great but I also like fashion, makeup, beauty product blogs, Television, sport and Celebrity blogs and well anything really.
Anyway, Thanks everyone! Woop Woop!
haha xx

Friday, 13 July 2012

Hairstyles in BBC adaption of Henry IV part 1

After reading this article, I decided to watch the recent BBC adaption of Henry IV part 1 myself. I had never seen it before and I did not even know the plot. If anyone else had tried to watch Shakespeare without knowing the plot beforehand, you'll know how easy it is to suddenly get lost in the middle with no idea who anyone is or what the hell is happening. I'll admit I'm probably worse than most people as I can manage to get lost while watching James Bond films. So the first 20minutes I didn't know what was going on as per usual, however once I got a grip of the characters I really got into it. Henry IV part 1 is basically a medieval coming of age story. The main character Prince Hal spends the first part of the play playing immature jokes on his friends however by the end we see Prince Hal step up and become a leader.
 The best part was that Alan a Dale from the BBC robin hood series popped up as Hotspur (the rebelling Lord).  If you ever watched that series, you should watch this because It's like having Alan back..! I still love him so much.
I'm going to see a performance of Henry IV part 1 later this year so Its great that I will actually know the plot for once when I go to see Shakespeare. haha.

Anyway, Here are some of the memorable hairstyles that were in the show:

 This is Hotspur's wife, in this scene she wears an elaborate hairstyle with braids and an expensive looking hair piece as well which I really liked. I guess this scene shows well Hotspur's wealth and status as his wife is wearing expensive, fancy clothes as well as this complex hairstyle. So from what I can tell, the hair at the back of her head has been used to make a small bun. Then the hair left over at the back of the head is split into two pieces and each is braided down. These braids are then looped round the front of the head. The hair at the front of the head is then braided all the way down and then looped round to the top of the head and back to the bun. I'm guessing the actress used extensions because this style looks like it required a load of hair.

Thursday, 12 July 2012

Tips and Advice: The Crown Braid

Recently I have been wearing my hair in a crown braid quite a lot. Its a very pretty style but an absolute nightmare to try and do on yourself. In my practicing I've picked up a lot of tips on achieving a perfect crown braid. I've also got some links to the best videos which have helped me learn how to crown braid. :)

So a Crown Braid is where you braid your hair all the way around your head in a circle so it looks like a crown. As in this braid you are going to braid the whole way around back to where you started, the actual starting position is not important. The most popular places to start are either at the front of your head, with a side parting, or at the back of the head. Where to start is really your own choice and it is useful to practice a few diferent places to find what works best for you. Personally, I like to start at the back of my head. This is because it means you don't have to do the complex changing of hand position as you braid round the back of the head which means I can usually finish the braid faster and it comes out more neat.

Wednesday, 11 July 2012

Glee: The Hairstyles!

I used to love glee when it first started. Its become a little predicable and same-y over the recent series and I lost some interest in the show. However, is still entertaining and I do like the music in glee. This is post is just going to through some of the some interesting sttttyles. Here is a good review of the recent glee episodes!

1. Will Schuester
 This inspiration for this post came from the fact that Sue makes so many jokes about Will Schusters hair. I when I say so many I really mean it. I think we get about 1 different one per episode.
My favourites:
"Oh William I wouldn’t dare lean on you, there’s so much grease in your hair I'd probably slide right off."
 "I just lost my train of thought because you have so much margarine in your hair..."
"Hey, buddy. Get a haircut. It looks awful."

Tuesday, 10 July 2012

Hair Treatment Reviews: Egg hair mask

I like using home-made hair masks, made from the everyday ingredients found in my kitchen. I discovered do-it-yourself hair treatments earlier this year and became really interested in them. Last night I did a strengthening egg hair mask. The main reason I did this was because the ends of my hair were beginning to look a little damaged and I hoped the mask would add some moisture and shine back into my ends and generally make them look more healthy. I had read a few different recipes on the internet and adapted some of them to come up with my own:
 I took 1 egg and cracked it into bowl and whisked the yolk and white together. I added a spoon of olive oil and a spoon of honey and mixed them all together. The resulting mixture looks like an eggy gloop. It doesn't smell bad though, I could only smell the strong scent of the olive oil.

Monday, 9 July 2012

One Direction (part II) : Liam vs Justin Beiber

This is an update to my post about the hairstyles of One Direction.
Just found this article on (one of my favorite celebrity gossip blogs) about how Justin Bieber has stated that Liam from One direction "copied his hair". HAHAHA. hillariouss

Sunday, 8 July 2012

Cherry Healey: Hairstyles

Cherry Healey is a television presenter. She makes various documentaries about lifestyle and body image. My friends and I watch all her documentaries because there are usually quite hilarious. Recently, for example, she's been to a nudist convention, a bondage club and gotten a tattoo. Cherry usually tries to represent an average viewers opinion although at times this results in her being irritatingly neutral.  While they are not groundbreaking, they are still lighthearted and fun.
 At the moment her series 'how to get a life' is being shown on BBC 3 if you live in UK.  Some of her past documentaries have been put on youtube. Here is 'Is breast best'.  Its definitely worth a watch. :)
haha, anyway, Cherry always seems to have different hairstyles on her shows. Here are some of the best of the "Cherry Healey" styles.

Cherry's Hair
As the picture shows, Cherry's hair isn't that long, its just past her shoulders... maybe APL length..? It is dyed blonde as she usually has noticeable roots showing. She doesn't often wear in down actually, most of the pictures of her are where she has her hair up. In this photo her hair is swept over in a side parting. I think she usually has a centre parting when she wears her hair down though.

Saturday, 7 July 2012

Jennifer Lawrence: Hair for the Hunger Games

Jennifer Lawrence has just starred as Katniss Everdeen in 'The Hunger Games'. She went through a pretty drastic change to become Katniss in the films, so much so that I did not even recognize her as the star of the hunger games when I saw a picture of her. Even now, I think it is very hard to recognize her as Katniss. Naturally Jennifer has blonde hair,  in photos she looks like she could be a Disney star like Ashley Tisdale or Hilary duff with her long blonde-bombshell hair and her sunny happy smile. However, as Katniss, she looks completely different. For the film her hair was dyed a dark rich brown as Katniss in the book is described on many occasions of having  long dark brown hair. I know there was a lot of questions about Jennifer playing Katniss because of her blonde hair but she looks very realist as a brunette in the films. In real life, I'm not as sure. I found a few pictures of her with brown hair and I think she definitely looks better as a blonde

Friday, 6 July 2012

Disney Princess Hair: Part 1

I've decided to start a new series about Disney Princess hair. I'm going to go through the main and possibly also supporting character's hair in some of the most popular  Disney movies. In part 1 I will do some of the classics: Cinderella, Sleeping beauty, snow white and Beauty and the beast. I do feel a little ridiculous talking about in such depth the hair of fictional Disney characters... but oh well... Its all good fun right

1. Cinderella
Cinderella has bright, bright, bright yellow hair. For a princess her hair is surprisingly short, only just reaching her shoulders. She also has a full front fringe. At first the fact that she has this massive 40s/50s pin up girl style fringe does seem a bit weird. But then maybe its not that odd, Cinderalla was made in 1950 so this style was still in fashion at the time.

Thursday, 5 July 2012

Revenge: The Hairstyles

Revenge: its the non-reality, darker, American revision of Made in Chelsea! Hence why Revenge has become one of my new top shows. Here in the UK we are only about 6 episodes in but I am already really into it. Its an interesting show because the protagonist Emily Thorne is not always likeable, she is closed off and cutting but can fake the perfect rich-girl image whenever she needs to be deceitful  or pry information. This causes an audience to feel split between supporting Emily's revenge campaign and feeling she is just a little bit crazy and goes too far. Revenge is one of those unique shows where characters are not given the "good guy" "bad guy" labels so much as the line between right and wrong is blurred. I would recommend watching it: bringing up the old question of whether two wrongs make a right makes for interesting watching and obviously there is also the fact that they are really rich and beautiful and have amazing houses and lifestyles...etc.. *sigh*

1. Emily Thorne
Emily's hair is a rather bright blonde. It's not platinum its just very yellow, almost a butter yellow. I feel the colour is just a bit too unnatural. Also i can't help but notice her eyebrows look far too dark in comparison. I think she would look better with a less yellow, more ashy blonde colour. I do prefer her with blonde hair to the black hair she had in the flashback scene in episode 1 though. Emily usually has curly hair as shown above. Sometimes she wears it straight but I like it better when its curled

Wednesday, 4 July 2012

Nicola Roberts: Hairstyles

In 2003 Nicola Robert took part in the TV show Popstars: the rivals. She ended up winning the show to become a member of the girls group 'Girls Aloud'. Since then she has been in the public eye as much about her striking appearance as her music. She was always my favourite member of Girl's Aloud, and shes got amazing hair so here are her most famous hairstyles!

1.  Natural Ginger
Nicola was only 16 when she auditioned for Popstars. Her hair was long and her natural ginger colour. It was kept in a simple style. I suppose it might be straightened in this photo.

Tuesday, 3 July 2012

One Direction: The Hairstyles!

When they first became a band on the Xfactor 2010 they were described as "five Justin Biebers". I can see where that came from as as well as being cute and innocent looking, the majority of them also had that side swept long hair thing made famous by JB.

1. Harry Styles
Probably the most well known member of One Direction due to his, er, affairs with older women. He also has the most well known hairstyle, unruly long messy 'mop-head' curls. Its a style that was popular with Indie bands back in the 2000s, for example, Harry reminds me a lot of Luke the Kook. (Luke Pritchard from the Kooks). Fashion-wise as well, Harry dresses similar in style to Indie bands like the Kooks.

Stooshe: Hairstyles

 Stooshe are a new girl band who have become known for their wacky fashion sense and hairstyles. In their first two music videos they have been sporting some really cool vintage styles which I am going to talk about in this post!

The first major song Stooshe released was called 'Love me'. These photos shows some of the hairstyles worn in the video. On the left Courtney Rumbold has her hair in an edgy style with both sides shaved and the hair in the middle kept long. It is then swirled up into a loop and fixed on the top of her head. On the right Karis Anderson has her hair in Victory rolls: a style that was popular in the 40s. She has 2 symmetric rolls on both sides of her head and also a full front fringe. I really like these hairstyles, they are like a new fun take on a classic vintage style

'Black Heart' was the second song they released. I didn't like it at first but it has really grown on me. Courtney had the most interesting hairstyle in the video. This time her hair was pink and curled into waves which covered one side of her head. Courtney has a very brave style, I think you would have to be pretty daring and confident to copy it yourself.  However, is become popular recently with stars such as Rihanna also having partial shaved styles.

Monday, 2 July 2012

Worst hair at European Athletics Championships 2012?

I have been watching the 2012 European athletics championships that has just taken place in Helsinki. There has been some great events, my favourite being the men's pole vault final. I have never really payed attention to the pole vault before this year but after that final I fell a little bit in love with the eventual winner Renaud Lavillenie, and also the silver medalist Björn Otto. <3. They had nice hair as well. I mean i did think Otto's hair made him look a bit like a werewolf, but still, it was interesting.

So yeah, there hasn't been many bad hairstyles while I have been watching. However, there was one which stood out quite a lot, the bronze medalist in the womens hammer Anna Bulgakova.
 What is going on with her hair? She's got a mohican AND a mullet. I mean i can accept the mohican, thats not really too bad, but a mullet... no no no no no. What an awful haircut, I really just want to grab it and cut it off! Obviously congratulations on her bronze medal though. The gold medalist Anita Włodarczyk had a pretty crazy hairdo as well.

Sunday, 1 July 2012

Made in Chelsea Hairstyles: The Boys

Okay here is part two of my review of the hairstyles from Made in Chelsea: the boys!
(To see part one of my review click here.)

1. Spencer Matthews

We all remember Spencer's hilarious haircut from season one: long slicked back hair combined with some scary facial hair. Luckily, he had his hair cut before the start of season two. Since then, Spencer tends to wear his hair spiked up at the front à la Jedward (although admittedly his hair does not have the same height as Jedward's).
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Disney's Brave: Merida or Rebekah Brooks

There has been a lot of talk in the media recently about the character Merida in Disney's new movie Brave and how she looks exactly like the former chief executive of News International, Rebekah Brooks.
So yeah, I thought I'd offer my own opinion on the resemblance.

© 2012 Disney. Pixar;
At a first glance, it looks like Merida is an exact cartoon copy of Miss Brooks. Both have long frizzy curly red hair that tousles about their shoulders getting in the way of their face. Looking closer we see that Merida's hair is actually slightly more orange, more voluminous and that she is, in fact, clutching a bow instead of a handbag.
I'm assuming the resemblance is a coincidence. After all it makes sense that an unruly Scottish heroine would have fizzy red hair. However, it does seem unfair that if anyone gets to be made into a Disney character, intentional or otherwise, it gets to be Rebekah Brooks. *pfff* Well, Either way, I dislike the hair.

Here's a good article i found that talks more about the Merida/Brooks resemblance.

Saturday, 30 June 2012

The Big Bang Theory: Penny (Kaley Cuoco) Hairstyles

Kaley Cuoco is one of my favorite actresses. I watched her when she was in 8 simple rules and more recently in The Big Bang Theory where she plays 'Penny'. In the 5 seasons of the Big Bang Theory, Penny has many different haircuts, in this post I will go through all the different 'Penny hairstyles'! yayness.

Season 1

Here we first meet Penny. She is originally shown to be a stereotypical "dumb blonde" compared to the highly intelligent Leonard and Sheldon. However as the show progresses we see how Penny, in fact, is smart, witty and confident. In some episodes in season 1 Penny has a side fringe and long choppy layers. In others she has a full front fringe and shorter shoulder length hair. When she has a fuller fringe she looks a lot "cuter", personally I prefer the hair she has in later seasons.

Season 2 / 3
 In season 2 and 3, Penny grows out her fringe. Her hair is a medium length with a centre parting and she keeps the choppy layers. Her shortest layers lie above her chin as she grows out her fringe.

Season 4 /5 
In the later seasons, Penny grows her hair longer with the shortest layers now below her chin. She lets her blonde dyed hair grow out slightly so she has a large section of dark blonde/brown hair at the top of her head and lighter blonde at the ends. This style is often called "Ombre hair".

Other Penny Styles
Penny also wears a her hair in a variety of different styles throughout all the seasons. For example a high ponytail when she works at the cheesecake factory and a messy bun when she is lounging around in her apartment. She also wears a lot of cute half-up styles.

The best way to copy "The Penny" is to 'poof' up the front of your hair or back comb to create volume at the crown. Styles are usually left messy and informal.

Friday, 29 June 2012

Made in Chelsea Hairstyles: The Girls

I love Made in Chelsea a ridiculous amount. I am completely addicted. Since I watch it so much I thought I would do some reviews of the hairstyles in the show. Here is part one: the girls!

(To read Part 2: the Boys click here!)

1. Caggie Dunlop
 So although she left the show this series, she will always be my favorite cast member. Her hair is beautiful and although I suspect it is probably dyed, looks very natural and not at all fake Her hair is quite layered with the longest being about APL length and the shortest at chin length. This helps give her hair more volume and movement. Naturally it hangs with a slight wave as show in the picture but it also looks good when curled.

2. Gabriella Ellis

  I'm actually a fan of dip dyed hair but even I have limits. What was she thinking. In the first photo she looks like someone has attacked her hair with felt-fit pens and in the second like a wicked witch about to fly away on her broomstick back to crazy land. You have to admire her for being so creative and interesting with her hair, it does match her personality: completely crazy, loud and over the top. However, it is, well, ridiculous. 

3. Cheska Hull

So Cheska's hair is more obviously dyed blonde and throughout the show she does often have noticeable roots which is a major pet peeve of mine. However, I do admit that the blonde suits her. I like her hair as it is shown in the picture with a slight wave to it. In some episodes she has it much more curly looking slightly like a poodle. The waves are much nicer.

4. Millie Mackintosh
Millie's hair is a good example of how a very simple style can look stylish and expensive. She wears her hair either straight as shown above or curled into loose waves.  Its also nice to see she has kept her natural colour of dark blonde

5. Rosie Fortescue
 Rosie's hair is long and all in one layer. It lacks volume and lies quite flat against her head. She wears it either completely straight or in loose waves as shown in the photo.

Mostly, it seems the way to copy the expensive Chelsea look is to keep it simple. Hair is sleek and glossy with long layers and usually a centre parting, styles with fringes are not usually worn in the show. Ignoring Gabriella, the most important point is to keep hair looking natural and healthy.

Monday, 25 June 2012

Gemma Collins: 8 out of 10 cats 15/06/2012

 So a couple of weeks ago, Gemma Collins from 'The Only Way is Essex' appeared on '8 out 10 cats'. While I am not a fan of her "Essex style" and found her rather annoying throughout the episode, i was impressed with the cute hairstyle she was wearing on the show (as shown above). Her hair is parted on the side with a short french fishtail braid across the top stopping at the side of her head. It is simple, very wearable and makes a nice change from the usual french braid that is used when braiding bangs. I also like how it is tied off just above the ear and allowed the fall down loose as I've found braiding the whole way down and then clipping it out the way is harder to do and often doesn't look as good. Definitely a hairstyle to try out, there is no shame in taking hair inspiration from someone from Towie...well sometimes...

Sunday, 24 June 2012

Euro 2012 Hairstyles

So I have been loosely following the Euro 2012 football tournament currently taking place. While I do like football, 90 minutes is a long time to watch a game without getting bored. Hence why I have started rating football players based on hair. Here are some of the most memorable hair cuts i have so far observed:

1.Fernando Torres

So, I've always had a soft spot for Torres. Mostly due to the fact he dyes his hair blonde and wears girly headbands while he plays. I was disappointed when he moved to Chelsea and let his hair grow back brown. Since redyeing it blonde, it seems he has re-found some of his previous form. Proof that blonde is always better. Rating 8/10

2. Andy Carroll / Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Surprisingly I have been seeing a large amount of footballers in euro 2012 with ponytails e.g. Andy Carol and Zlatan Ibrahimovic. I've never been a fan of men with ponytails. There is something weird to me about a football player running about the pitch with his hair in a ballet bun. It should never be done, just no. . Rating 3/10

3.  Petr Jiráček
 If this hair cut was designed to scare away the opposition I think its working, he terrifies me at least. But honestly, I don't think he needs the long ragged locks to be scary, please cut them off..!   
Rating 1/10 

4. Cristiano Ronaldo
Blergh. Ronaldo has the hair or someone who is arrogant, over-confident and in love with himself. So I guess his haircut reflects him well. While I can't stand him, his hair isn't too bad, if a little over gelled. Rating 6/10

5.  Mario Balotelli

Haha, well what can I say. While this hair cut is clearly ridiculous (for obvious reasons)  it really wouldn't be right if someone wasn't sporting a platinum blonde mohawk at a major tournament.  Rating 5/10